John Williams: American Journey (part 1 of 3) 1st & 2nd mvt

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Composed and conducted by John Williams.
The Recordings Arts Orchestra of Los Angeles.

1st mvt: Immigration and building
2nd mvt: Country at War

This six-movement work was composed for the Millennium celebrations in Washington, D.C. as part of a multimedia presentation done in collaboration with Steven Spielberg, Poets Laureate Rita Dove, Robert Pinsky, and Maya Angelou. The presentation also featured the words of Carl Sandburg, Abraham Lincoln and Martin Luther King, Jr. Rather than a chronological rendering of the “American” century, this is, rather, an attempt to portray the 20th Century thematically, “with a series of tableaux that could be dealt with individually,” says Williams.